Kasee’s Top Summer Moments

How did we already reach the end of summer? When did that even happen? Now, don’t get me wrong; I love fall. Just the idea of its impending approach makes me want to buy school supplies (or perhaps send a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils?? It just wouldn’t be a blog post of mine unless I referenced You’ve Got Mail, now would it?). But lately I’ve been desperately trying to hang on to the last moments of summer: the long, stretching days, the late mornings, the open-ended plans. Freedom. But alas, here we are.

Seth had his turn to list his highlights of our summer. Now it’s my turn. I prefer listicles, so here we go. The countdown:

10. On a Date

Yeah, sure, we’re married. But dating is still important! We’ve had some really fun dates this summer, some of which include me beating Seth at mini-golf, eating my weight in s’mores and carnival food, and falling asleep during the first movie at a drive-in. I love summer.

IMG_2113

IMG_2126

IMG_2183

IMG_1778

IMG_1768

IMG_2115

9. Sleepless in Seattle

Another Nora Ephron reference? Don’t mind if I do.

I love big cities, and I have loved exploring Seattle’s many wonders, including a wall inches thick with solidified gum, a market with flying fish, and the best darn milkshake I’ve had (and I’ve had my fair share of milkshakes). I love seeing all the flowers in Pike’s Place and getting a little motion sick on the waterfront ferris wheel. And I’m pretty sure I found ALL of the stationary shops in a radius of several miles.

IMG_1532

IMG_1539

IMG_1544

IMG_1546

IMG_1732

8. You Make My (Pinterest) Dreams Come True

Seth is my hero. This summer, he has been so committed to helping me make my dreams a reality. He has encouraged my interests and fueled my passions, as he patiently listened to my ideas and set out to make them happen. Not only did he build me a letterpress, but also a mason jar garden, a chicken wire frame, and a cookbook stand. Like, hello, I can now be a true DIY domestic goddess! Plus, he changed the rotors and pads on our car brakes, so he’s basically a superstar. It’s the understatement of the century, but yeah, I picked well.

IMG_1929

7. On the Road Again

In a whirlwind 26+ total hour road trip, Seth and I jetted back to Utah to attend the lovely wedding of a dear friend. We exhausted the entire Taylor Swift discography in about 3 hours, ate our favorite kolaches, and marveled over the beauty of the Payson temple (and the beauty of the new bride!). Such a happy, happy memory.

IMG_1866

IMG_1893

IMG_1903

IMG_1906

6.Visiting Breann and Lucy

Being in Washington meant being several thousand miles away from the family. But this summer I got to see family on two very special occasions: a pre-wedding beach week and a quick trip to Texas during July.

IMG_1177

IMG_1181

IMG_1194

IMG_1203

IMG_2036

IMG_2037

IMG_2042

Chick-Fil-A trips are always a family affair.

IMG_2052

Lucy is snuggling with me! This is MONUMENTAL! (Even if it only lasted about five seconds.)

IMG_2055

Perfecting her selfie.

IMG_2057

5. Adventure is Out There! 

I’m not adventurous. Like, my idea of trying new things is staying out past 9:30 or buying a different brand of toothpaste. But this summer, Seth has opened me up to a lot of new experiences. Can you believe it, I went sea kayaking (whales! whales! whales!), crabbing (see #4), lake swimming in pouring rain, and hiked up a tall mountain! I flew kites, caught fish, and pursued new interests. And I loved every minute!

crabbing

kayaking

IMG_1633

IMG_2241

4. Hello, Martha Stewart

Okay, I wish I was Martha Stewart (except the whole jail thing…). Perhaps one of my favorite things about this summer has been being able to cook, and Washington is a place of such plenty! I picked tons of different kinds of fruit, made no less than 30 jars of jam (thanks, Sister Gillespie!), and found the best taco recipe. I made sea-to-plate crab cakes, tried tons of new recipes, and realized that a hobby has quickly become something I seriously hope to pursue with my journalism career (read more about this one my food blog here).

IMG_1997

3. Taking a Look Around

Contrary to popular (my) belief, Washington isn’t so bad. When Seth and I first became friends, we had a serious rivalry going: Which Washington is better? Washington State (HIS) or Washington D.C. (MINE)? As it turns out, we got married in the Washington D.C. temple, and we lived in Washington state for the summer. I guess we came to a truce. But man. Washington is amazing. One of my favorite things about this summer has been seeing all the beauty of the Pacific Northwest. There it is – everywhere you look!

IMG_1510

IMG_1558

IMG_1615

IMG_1714

IMG_1722

IMG_1985

IMG_2138

IMG_2147

IMG_1516

IMG_1849

IMG_2152

Like, I can’t even…

2. Lua de Mel

Haha, hey yeah, remember that time we MISSED our cruise ship the day after our wedding?? HAHA, good times! Haha! Hah. Ha. Yeah, the wound’s still fresh. But our honeymoon taught me a lot of things early in our marriage, like how Seth and I make a killer team (ex. Seth gets the tissues when I’m sobbing my eyes out. Teamwork.) And how things don’t always turn out how we expect them, but they can still be amazing. Oh, and also that Seth and I eat alot and he cheats at Bananagrams. You know, important things.

IMG_1334

IMG_1340

IMG_1344

IMG_1353

IMG_1356

IMG_1368

IMG_1391

IMG_1419

1. I married the guy I used to sing “We Are Never Getting Back Together” about.

10447103_10154037958554358_438905516582388991_n

May 9th, 2015. Easily the most peaceful, lovely, wonderful, joyous day of my life. I entered a holy place and covenanted with my Heavenly Father, hand-in-hand with the boy I love. Could I have guessed that six months after getting home from my mission I’d be in a wedding dress? No…NO. But here we are, the Baileys. And I couldn’t be happier.

Best summer ever? YEAH BOII

TALK TO US, YO.

