Pure Christ-like Love (6-30-2014)

Hello to all!

This week, I’ve been thinking alot about love.

In April General Confernence, our beloved prophet said:

We cannot truly love God if we do not love our fellow travelers on this mortal journey. Likewise, we cannot fully love our fellowmen if we do not love God, the Father of us all. The Apostle John tells us, “This commandment have we from him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.” We are all spirit children of our Heavenly Father and, as such, are brothers and sisters. As we keep this truth in mind, loving all of God’s children will become easier. Actually, love is the very essence of the gospel, and Jesus Christ is our Exemplar. His life was a legacy of love.”

Christ truly taught the higher love of love – showing kindness and patience to those who persecute us, ridicule or hate us. I have felt a greater need in my life to develop this kind of pure love, especially as more people laugh at our attempts to share the gospel, or doors are slammed continually in our faces (whether literally, or figuratively). If love truly is the essence of the gospel, this love must be apparent in all we do, especially if we mean to declare ourselves as true followers of Christ. In my work, it must show in my desire to work diligently, my efforts to understand and be patient with others, and to serve unselfishly, with all my heart, might, mind and strength. Elder Holland promises: “Pure Christlike love flowing from true righteousness can change the world.” How much I desperately want to develop this Christ-like love.

The work truly is hard sometimes. This week I felt just a bit…weary. But, the Lord’s blessings are always to be found as we strive to recognize His hand. I know this is the Lord’s work. He is hastening His work. I have a unfailing testimony of this gospel. Families CAN be eternal. I love you all!

Sister Baldwin

TALK TO ME, YO.

