Amazing Miracles and Transfer (3-10-2014)

Queridos,

So this week was a’ight. ….JINX IT WAS TOTALLY AMAZING, MIRACLES, HELLO!

 
Okay, calm.
 

Sister Olander and I saw some amazing miracles this week. Wow. We are feeling really blessed. First of all, we got transfers this week, and I get to stay in Maputo 1 with Sister O! I am so grateful. I love her and I love this area. We have word that new sisters are coming next transfer, so I am STOKED to be able to have another transfer to work with her before things get really crazy. We have been through so much growth together, and we are really looking forward to these next six weeks. But, in other news, we have found some AMAZING families this week. Beto and Isabel came to church for the first time yesterday, and loved it! Beto called us this morning, and the call went something like this:

Beto: I got your message. Church was great! We really, really enjoyed it.

Sister B: That’s awesome! We are so glad you came!

Beto: Yeah, but I do have a question. Where can I get this Book of Mormon?
Sister B: …. Uhm, well, yes. I think we can make that happen.

What every missionary prays to hear! It was awesome. Sister O and I major high-fived for that one. They are a super great family. He is also the one that said, when I asked what they believed about the nature of God, that “…he’s probably tall, right?” We love them.
Leo and Isabel, another family we have been teaching came for the first time, too! They ran into Beto and Isabel on the way, and they gave Leo and Isabel a lift there, since she’s pregant. Then Nelson, the husband of another awesome family came, and Sister Olander and I were freaking out, we were so excited. Then. Then. Get this. This is where it gets CRAZY! Another family shows up. No one “claims” them. (To the Elders: is are these your investigators? Who do they belong to?”) No one knows. They are like, commenting up a storm in Gospel Principles and they totally know what’s up in the church meetings. We don’t think much of it until we are driving home, discussing the turnout at Church. Who was that family? We discuss. What were their names? Felipe and Lyria.
….Felip e and Lyria.
FELIPE AND LYRIA!!!!

So, last flash back two months. Sister Olander and I are walking in our area. Just walking. We walk alot. Then randomly, we past some strewn garbage and I see a teaching record. A teaching record that missionaries use to record who we’re teaching and their progress. I was like, what? What is this doing here? How did it get here? I was super confused, but picked it up and we kept walking. The teaching record talks about a family that was taught by other missionaries like 8 years ago. Weird. Luckily, it had a complete address and a phone number, so we tried to find them. Address: wrong. House doesn’t exist. Phone numbers: don’t work. We were bummed, but ended up just forgetting about them. UNTIL YESTERDAY WHEN THE SAME FAMILY SHOWED UP AT CHURCH!! We don’t even know how they got to church, since we moved buildings, but there they were. And we’re visiting them this Wednesday with President and Sister Kretly. Boom. E UM MILAGRE!
Can you believe that? It never ceases to amaze me how the Lord works. He is so aware of all of His children and I truly know that this is His work!

“And now, O all ye that have imagined up unto yourselves a god who can do no miracles, I would ask of you, have all these things passed, of which I have spoken? Has the end come yet? Behold I say unto you, Nay; and God has not ceased to be a God of miracles.” (Mormon 9:15)

I know that God lives. I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and Redeemer. He has come, and He will come again. His Church was restored, and it is only through the restored gospel that we find TRUE happiness in this life, and eternal life in the world to come. The Book of Mormon IS the word of God, another testament of Jesus Christ. I know his gospel is spreading throughout the world, by His power. It is true!
Amo vos muito!

Sister Baldwin

TALK TO US, YO.

