Christmas (12-23-2013)

Feliz Natal, minha querida familia! (e amigos)

I hope this email finds you all happy, healthy, and filled with the Christ(mas) spirit. What a glorious time of year.

Lately, I have been thinking alot about the birth of Christ as prophecied in the Book of Mormon. In Helaman 16, it says:

“But it came to pass in the ninetieth year of the reign of the judges, there were great signs given unto the people, and wonders; and the words of the prophets began to be fulfilled.

And angels did appear unto men, wise men, and did declare unto them glad tidings of great joy; thus in this year the scriptures began to be fulfilled.”

Many people didn’t believe the signs and mocked those that did. Nephi prays for the suffering believers, and the voice of the Lord brings them these words of peace:

“Lift up your head and be of good cheer; for behold, the time is at hand, and on this night shall the sign be given, and on the morrow come I into the world, to show unto the world that I will fulfil all that which I have caused to be spoken by the mouth of my holy prophets.

 Behold, I come unto my own, to fulfil all things which I have made known unto the children of men from the foundation of the world, and to do the will, both of the Father and of the Son—of the Father because of me, and of the Son because of my flesh. And behold, the time is at hand, and this night shall the sign be given.”

The gospel of Jesus Christ is the source of true happiness and peace in this life, and in the life to come. This is Christ’s Church reestablished on the Earth. The Book of Mormon is another, living witness of Him and the way to come closer to Him. The gospel is true! It is a sacred privilege to be a messenger of his gospel at this special time.

This week, Carlos, Sister Olander and I’s investigator will be baptized. He is so prepared. The most amazing moments for me have been to see the change the gospel brings into people’s lives, and to see those who he has clearly prepared to receive Him. E um milagre.

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday! I am thinking and praying for you everyday. FEliz Natal from Mozambique!

 

Love,

Sister Baldwin

 

“Has this toothbrush been approved by the American Dental Association? …can you please find out?” I will be thinking about you all, and Kevin McCallister this Christmas.

2 responses to “Christmas (12-23-2013)

  1. Merry Christmas, dear Kasee! I just saw a 15 minute video slideshow of your mission your mom posted on Facebook. And I’m crying! So happy for the experiences you are having, the lives you are touching, and all the ways you must be growing! Keep up the great work and know I’m cheering you on!

    My friend and neighbor I introduced to the church has now been coming for a year and wakes up at 5:30a M-F to read the Book of Mormon before getting her kids up and off to school as she heads into work. She’s in Alma 37 now and her 8 year old daughter gave her first talk last month in Primary and wants to be baptized. I love seeing the gospel of Jesus Christ in action through our relationship, sharing our lives! I love the Sisters we’ve worked with and how prepared they are, how great it is that they can text my friend things they study and answer her questions too. Our missionaries will be getting iPads soon I hear and I’m curious how that will further their work. I just joined the texting/smart phone world this fall and I’ll never be able to go back!

    Did you see the new lds.org gospel topic “Race and the Priesthood”? It’s a great step forward! I’ve begun reading up on the early black Saints and am so inspired by their examples of faith! I hope to read more about the church’s growth and challenges in Africa. We all work with the light and understanding we have and hope to do our best. that’s all we can expect of ourselves and others.
    http://www.lds.org/topics/race-and-the-priesthood

    Love you, Kasee!

  2. hi sister baldwin. i hope you get this and the others that i sent. i am not sure that i am doing this right. it was so wonderful to see you on christmas day. it was the highlite of the day. just getting getting to see you made it one of the best days. i love you and i love the posts. i don,t know when cody, maley and mae are leaving. i hope not to soon. cold weather has returned with a vengence. i love the pictures of the people that you are teaching. keep them coming. well, i know that you have lots of e-mails to read and answer so i will keep this short. i love you and you are always in my prayers. grandma

TALK TO ME, YO.

