A Hot Shower and Thanksgiving! (12-1-2013)

Hello all!

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving! The senior couples here took really good care of us. We showed up to Thanksgiving dinner an hour late and SOAKED, but everything went well. Any holiday that is centered around food is one I will enjoy anywhere in the world. I have so much to be grateful for, especially as a missionary. So many blessings!

We are still facing some struggles in our area, but the Sisters and I are realizing that we are not living up to the miracles that the Lord has prepared for us in this area. He HAS families here. This week, I was reading in the Book of Mormon about when Nephi breaks his bow. His family is complaining and hungry and he doesn’t have another bow. It says:

“And it came to pass that I, Nephi, did make out of wood a bow, and out of a straight stick, an arrow; wherefore, I did arm myself with a bow and an arrow, with a sling and with stones. And I said unto my father: Whither shall I go to obtain food?”

 
Not only does he make a new bow out of DIFFERENT materials, he also brings a sling and stones. Back-up plan. I love this example. In our area, we need to try new things, find those inspired ideas that will help us find those prepared families. Estamos a garimpar! (We’re mining for gold!)
I am also learning so much more about what blessings the Lord has promised with the power and authority we have. We are His called representatives, and we have power to do this work. I will not let this power go unused.
ALSO. I read an amazing CES devotional (the one from November) and love all that it teaches about giving our will to God. For my 25 Days of Christmas, I am trying to do something everyday that will help me give more my will to Heavenly Father. Everyone: go read this talk!

http://www.lds.org/broadcasts/article/ces-devotionals/2013/01/i-will-give-myself-to-him?lang=eng

 
I hope you all have a wonderful week! Thank you for all the love and support.

Love,
Sister Baldwin

“As you submit your wills to God, you are giving Him the only thing you can actually give Him that is really yours to give. Don’t wait too long to find the altar or to begin to place the gift of your wills upon it!” -Elder Neal A. Maxwell

 
One response to “A Hot Shower and Thanksgiving! (12-1-2013)

  1. hi kasee, (sister baldwin),

    i am so happy that we will get to see and talk to you on christmas. best christmas present in ages. mom and i baby sat mae last week so cody and maley could have an overnight date. we had so much fun with her. she was happy and we sure did play alot. mom taught her itsy bitsy spider and she dances while she makes the finger movements. we had a snow storm last night and this morning. now we are having a freezing rain. it was nice to be snowed in and warm. this is early so i am anxious about the rest of winter. i love reading your posts. i think that you are so wonderful and so loved by the lord for doing his work here on earth. when you return home, you will be able to handle life because you are living so much life. you will use all the things that you have learned for the rest of your life and you will be blessed. i am going to close as i know that you have a lot of mail to read. i love you and you are always in my prayers

    grandma

TALK TO ME, YO.

