Currant Bush (10-14-2013)

Hello everyone!

I hope that this email finds you all happy and healthy! Another great week here in Maputo. This week hit 40 graus (about 107-110 degrees), but there has been an incredible amount of good. In Church yesterday, we had our Primary Program, and the attendance reached 188! Even the branch presidency was commenting on the amazing growth. E um milagre.

We finally get to watch General Conference next week, and I am SO EXCITED. I am also getting really excited to see some of my recent converts receive the priesthood. It’s…incredible.
I am loving working with my companion, and we are teaching some really great families. My faith is growing in the knowledge that truly the Lord will lead us to those who are prepared to accept the gospel. I see His hand everyday, in every moment.

We also had a zone training this week, and I learned something really important. We watched a Mormon Message from Elder Christoffersen, that tells the story of the Gardener and the currant bush. The Gardener cuts down the currant bush and says “I am the Gardener here. I know what I want you to be.” This really struck me. I shouldn’t be discouraged when the Lord needs to cut me down, in order to help me become what He needs me to be. I want to continually be looking for ways to improve and seek after the Lord’s correction. It was a powerful lesson for me.

Eu quero que todos voces sabem que tenho um testemunho do evangelho de Jesus Cristo. Sei que nosso Salvador vive e que ele conhece cada um de nos. Este e a obra dele e suas maos estao em cada momento. Esta Igreja e verdedeira e atraves o evangelho possamos voltar a presenca de nosso Pai Celestial.
 

I hope you all have a great week! Love you!

Sister Baldwin

TALK TO US, YO.

