Last email from the MTC June 21, 2013

Everyone! Oi!
 
THIS IS IT. Next time I write, I WILL BE IN MOZAMBIQUE! When did this happen? It feels like yesterday I was walking into the MTC with my dork dot. Now I’m here! We got our travel plans last Friday, and so things are really starting to get real. We had in-field orientation yesterday, and I am so excited to go out there, put into practice all that I’ve been learning, and find those prepared to hear the message of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. This work is true!
 
So, we are planning to leave Monday, and will be traveling across three days – Utah to Dallas to London to Johannesburg to Mozambique – with a host of long layovers in between. But I am so excited. Lots of time to study and talk with people! Can’t wait. Mom, Dad, and siblings – wait for my call! Not really sure how it’s all going to work out, but be ready! Also: Virginia family: my companion, Sister Thornton has a friend serving in DC South (Sister Haubner) and my other companion, Sister Merkley, has a cousin in DC South (Sister Loar), so keep a lookout for them.
 
ATTENTION EVERYONE: you all better tune into the broadcast this Sunday! It is a worldwide broadcast on missionary work and I know that it is going to be amazing! I will be singing in the choir, so you can look amongst all the sisters for me! I am so excited for it. I know it will prepare me to leave the next day with increased faith and excitement.
 
So a number of cool experiences this week:
 
-The other night, a girl learning English asked me for help in how to cook her Pop-Tarts in the microwave. I’m telling you guys, I almost cried. She was so humble and sweet. I felt the Spirit bearing witness to me (I know, in a funny situation, nonetheless) that the people in Mozambique will be kind with my vulnerabilities in the language. I need to continue to improve, but I need not worry if I can’t say everything perfectly at first. Just as Sister Neill F. Marriott taught us in our Relief Society lesson this week, the Lord wills soften the hearts of the listeners.
-During our Sunday film time, my companions and I tried to watch a devotional by Elder Bednar, but there was no room, so we ended up watching the Testaments. And I am so glad – it was one of the most powerful experiences I’ve had at the MTC. I haven’t seen in a while I guess, because the Spirit was so strong, and my testimony was strengthened. I KNOW that Christ lives. That God loves all of His children and sent His son so that we could return to Him. I know that the Book of Mormon is true and that it testifies of Christ. I encourage, no I COMMIT (hey, I’m a missionary now) to watch this film (again, if you’ve already seen it). The Spirit WILL be there, and your testimony of the Savior will grow. It is a powerful tool.
-I finished reading the Book of Mormon this week. It took me about a month (reading 15 pages a day) to finish, and my testimony of this book has grown so much. Reading it this time around I was impressed by how much it talks of missionary work. I also found some verses with new meaning for me. I thought I’d share those. Read them, and share seus pensamentos comigo (your thoughts with me)! 3 Nephi 9:13 (Christ CAN, WILL, and WANTS to heal us); Moroni 7:31 (This doesn’t just apply to prophets! WE are the chosen vessels of the Lord!); 3 Nephi 20:8 (The sacrament is more real than we think. We are taking Christ into our very souls.)
-The Sisters in my District going to Brazil got their temporary reassignments to St. George! I am so excited for them, but I am going to miss them so much! We learn so much from each other, and we have some really great memories. Some funny moments the other night: Sister Thornton kept repeating “Nao, nao” (no, no) in her sleep, and Sister Keenan was whimpering. Precious.
-In other news, I got a pretty bad cold this week. I had to take a few naps and I basically felt icky for several days, but I was able to get a really powerful priesthood blessing and I am feling better. I am so grateful for the priesthood keys restored to the earth! This is the true Church, Christ’s Church on the Earth.
 
This gospel is true. This Church is true. IT’S ALL TRUE. Joseph saw what he said he saw. He translated the Book of Mormon through the power of God. Christ appeared to the people in Jerusalem, as well as to the people in the Americas. The Book of Mormon will bring us closer and closer to God. We have a living prophet, Thomas S. Monson on the earth who speaks for God. The Savior atoned for our sins, and was resurrected. He was perfectly qualified, and fulfilled all righteousness. We can become like Him. This work rolls forward, filling the earth with the good news of the gospel: HE LIVES! These things are true. I have gained a testimony of them for myself, through the Holy Ghost, who is the comforter, the testifier, and the guider.
 
Thank you all for your continual love and support. I hope you know how grateful I am to be here, and I know that the Lord is watching over you all! Keep me updated on everything!
 
 
Love,

Sister Baldwin

TALK TO ME, YO.

