Week 4 at the MTC (June 14)

Oi, everyone! Tudo bem?
 
This week has been pretty wonderful. We had our first devotional in the Marriott Center, so pretty historic! There are so many missionaries here, and something like 1,297 sisters. Trecking over to the Marriott Center was a pretty funny site. We shut down Provo roads for a bit! But it was really great. Mervyn B. Arnold from the Seventy spoke. He quoted John Taylor who said that we lived with Heavenly Father for thousands of ages before this life. We are well-acquainted with Him. I thought that was amazing. Remember who created you, he said. There are moments here that I almost become completely paralyzed with what I am about to do. How can I do this? But then I remember whose work this is, and in whose image I was created. Elder Arnold also shared Exodus 4:10-12. Moses felt his many weaknesses, but God reminded him whose he was. I know I can do all things through Christ, which strengtheth me!
 
In our District, we are now speaking 100% Portuguese cada dia (every day), so desculpe if my English isn’t so great! It is getting hard now to pray and read the scriptures in English because Portuguese words always slip in. But I guess that is a good thing! Today, however, I did have a funny moment in a speaking assessment where I switched “letters” and “luck,” so I obviously need the immersion. It is starting to get really crazy – we are in our FIFTH week! We get our travel plans this upcoming week! I cannot believe that I have already been here for one month! It’s going so fast. I’m trying to make the most of every minute.
 
So, funny story. This week I was desperately searching for a scripture. I finally asked someone with access to technology who looked it up for me. 2 Kings. So I go look in 2 Kings and discover that FIFTY PAGES are missing from my Old Testament! 50 pages! They weren’t ripped out or places somewhere else. They are actually missing. Isn’t that crazy? My District has voted me the group Scriptorian, but they should obviously revoke that title since it’s been two years and I just found that! An Elder in my District joked that maybe I was not ready for the Doctrine when they printed my scriptures, so they took it out. I just thought it was really funny. But you guys should look at 2 Kings 6:16 regardless. It’s a really wonderful scripture. I hope to get some new scriptures in August (or later) when the new updated ones come out.
 
Like I mentioned, this week we had our first devotional in the Marriott Center. Have you guys heard anything about a worldwide broadcast about missionary work that is coming up on the 23rd of this month? Well, y’all need to be watching that. I don’t really know how much information about it is being released, but I think it might be in your best interest to watch for a certain sister missionary in the choir (be ready to look diligently…the choir makes up HALF of the MTC, if not more). It is going to be a historic moment. We are set to leave on the 23rd at this point, but I am just praying we will be there for the broadcast.
 
After our devotional on Sunday, we got to watch a talk by Elder Bednar called “Recognizing the Spirit.” He told us – if you are worried about what is you, and what is the Spirit, STOP WORRYING about it. Just be a “good girl” or a “good boy,” keep the commandments, honor your covenants, and the Spirit will guide your words and actions. He said a culture of this church is often that if we don’t recognize a prompting, it’s not a prompting. But he testified that in most cases, we don’t even know it’s happening. We are being good girls and boys and striving to do our best. I thought this was amazing. Also, we got to watch Music and the Spoken Word on Sunday. You guys should go back and watch it if you can, on their website. Look especially for “Pilgrim Song.” I LOVED that one. Also, still waiting on someone to send me the lyrics to “Savior, Redeemer of My Soul.” I have been thinking much about that song lately.
 
Some funny highlights of this week:
-Sister Keenan teaching us the defense move called “The Washing Machine Slap of Doom.”
-Elder Whitaker: “I think when Teancum died, we were homeboys in heaven.”
-Elder Hamrick:”Como vai seus corpos?” (Translation: How’s it going…your bodies?”
-Sister Merkley:”It was the last song, “Hero” by Enrique Iglesias was playing…”
Elder Hamrick:”Oh, isn’t it always?”
-Playing Simao Diz (Simon Says) while learning Portuguese commands.
-Irmao Owens teaching us the word for street kid/street rat in Portuguese: moleque. He said: “It’s those kids who run around in the street without a shirt flying kites.”
 
Well, that’s all for this week! I love you all so much. Thanks for your love and prayers.
 
Eu sei que esta igreja e verdadeira. Eu sei que nosso Salvador, Jesus Cristo, vive. Eu tenho um testemunho que este evangelho e restaurado na terra. Eu sei que O Livro de Mormon e as palavras de Deus. Digo estas coisas em nome de Jesus Cristo, amem.
 
-Sister Baldwin

 

TALK TO ME, YO.

