called.

It warrants a blog post, don’cha think?

Well, yes. I am going on a mission.

After months of waiting, anticipating, and generally freaking out, the large white envelope appeared in my mailbox completely  unexpected. Due to the large volume of missionary applications being sumbitted the past few months, I was not expecting it for several weeks. But a short week and a half after I turned in my papers, there it sat.

IMG958910

No matter the SEVERE PANIC ATTACK I had at the mailbox as I raced up to my apartment and called basically everyone in my entire family. Then I proceed to hide it under my pillow so I wouldn’t rip it open in a moment of weakness. FINALLY at 3 o’clock, with family members on Skype, Facetime and various phones, I opened that glorious envelope.

(Please ignore my poor pronunciation and lack of basic geography skills.)

“Dear Sister Baldwin,

You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

You are assigned to labor in the Mozambique Maputo Mission. It is anticipated that you will serve for a period of 18 months.

You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center on Wednesday, May 15, 2013. You will prepare to preach the gospel in the Portuguese language.”

WHAT SOUTH AFRICA WHAT?!

IMG_4138

IMG_4123

IMG_4136

40963

So grateful to wonderful friends to share the moment with! Love ’em.

IMG_4142

While I wish the sweater I had chosen to wear wasn’t covered in obnoxious poodles that I’m sure I’ll regret later, (I’m just counting my blessings I didn’t pee my pants, okay?!)  I have to say that this moment was positively perfect. I can’t even adequately express the way that I feel at this time. Awestruck, nervous, excited, humbled, grateful.

Never in a million years would I have guessed that I would serve in Africa. Never. But truly I know that this call was inspired of the Lord through His chosen servants.

The Lord has prepared for each of us futures beyond our wildest dreams. How He loves us.

And because I love Him, and have a sure testimony of His gospel, I cannot wait to share it with the people of Mozambique.

Called to serve Him, heav’nly King of glory

Chosen e’er to witness for his name

Far and wide we tell the Father’s story

Far and wide his love proclaim

Onward, ever onward, as we glory in his name;

Onward, ever onward, as we glory in his name;

Forward, pressing forward, as a triumph song we sing.

God our strength will be; press forward ever,

Called to serve our King.

Just for reference:

Mozambique-Map

(Photo via)

My home for 18 months. Here’s a little video the Travel Channel did on Maputo.

Well, off to read my Mission President’s blog (with the help of Google Translate o’course) and listen to Portuguese 101 tapes! BYE

Keep an out for RECAPZ coming soon! 😉

TALK TO ME, YO.

